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KENTUCKY BOARD OF INTERPRETERS FOR THE DEAF AND HARD OF HEARING
P.O. Box 1360
Frankfort, KY 40602
(502) 564-3296 ~ http://kbi.ky.gov

TEMPORARY LICENSE REINSTATEMENT APPLICATION

KRS 309.314 Does not allow the renewal of a temporary license. Temporary licenses shall be reinstated only
under limited circumstances. All temporary licenses not extended prior to August 31 each year will terminate
and the licensee must CEASE AND DESIST the practice of interpreting for the deaf and hard of hearing in
the Commonwealth of Kentucky.

The board may reinstate and extend a temporary license only if the licensee submits:

1) proof sufficient to the board of situations such as:
(a) Medical disability of the licensee;
(b) lliness of the licensee or an immediate family member; or
(c) Death or serious injury of an immediate family member.
2) Temporary License Reinstatement Application form,
3) Completion of all continuing education requirements (see part 14 of this form),
4) A letter from your mentor recommending your extension,
5) A new Plan of Supervision, and
6) The reinstatement fee of $125.00 (non-refundable), in addition to the $125.00 (non-refundable)
license extension fee, check or money order made payable to the Kentucky State Treasurer (DO
NOT SEND CASH). Fees are non-refundable.

Incomplete forms will be returned.
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COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING: (PRINT or TYPE)
1.

NAME: LAST FIRST MIDDLE
2. : :

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER LICENSE NUMBER
3.

MAILING ADDRESS: STREET or P.O. Box

CITY STATE ZIP COUNTY
4. / /

TELEPHONE:  (WORK) (HOME) (CELL)
5. /

E-MAIL ADDRESS FAX #
6.

PRESENT EMPLOYER & BUSINESS ADDRESS:


http://kbi.ky.gov/
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7. Date of initial issuance of temporary license:

O
8. Did you initially apply as a Deaf or Hard of Hearing individual?  Yes B No

A temporary license is granted for a maximum of FIVE (5) consecutive licensure years from the date of issue, including any
reinstatements that may have occurred during that timeframe. (i.e. A temporary license issued on July 1, 2012 will
terminate no later than July 1, 2017). Individuals who initially applied as Deaf or Hard of Hearing, working towards
becoming a CDI, may hold temporary licensure for a maximum of TEN (10) consecutive licensure years from the date of
initial issuance.

An application for extension and appropriate fees must be sent in each year.

At the end of that timeframe, there are no more extensions or reinstatements.

Note: “Licensure year” means the period between July 1st of each year and June 30th of the following year or the
time from which a license or temporary license was granted until the next June 30th.

9. EDUCATION:
Did you graduate from an Interpreter Training Program and receive adegree? Y Yes Y o
(If yes, check one): B.A. A.A.

10. List any and all degrees obtained, whether an ITP or non-ITP degree.

POST SECONDARY INSTITUTION | DEGREE | COMPLETION DATE MAJOR

11. Have you been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor where a jail sentence was imposed, or any crime

involving moral turpitude since the last renewal of your license? YES  NO If yes, what offense and give
details:

(Send Supporting Documentation)
12. Have you ever been convicted of violating any federal or state law applicable to the practice

of interpreting? O
preting Yes

(Send Supporting Documentation)
13. Has your License to be a licensed interpreter or any other professional credential in Kentucky or any other

state been subject to disciplinary action? Yes  No If yes, give details:

(Send Supporting Documentation)
Have you ever been found to have violated the code of ethics of a national organization that issued you a

O O
certification you hold or ever held? Yes  No If yes, give details:

(Send Supporting Documentation)
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14. CONTINUING EDUCATION

Complete the form below including complete date and hours obtained.

You must attach documentation of continuing education.

It is your responsibility to maintain all documentation of attendance.
(Requirements for continuing education for a reinstatement is outlined in 201 KAR 39:060
& 201 KAR 39:090, as applicable)

Incomplete forms will be returned.

Requirements for continuing education are outlined in 201 KAR 39:090, including those requiring prior
Board approval. Eighteen (18) clock hours, 3 in ethics, are required.
Incomplete forms will be returned

Workshop/Training/Course Name Dates Attended CE Hours Sponsoring Prior Board
mm/dd/yy Earned Organization Approval was

obtained? (if

applicable)

Ethics (3 hours required): List Ethics hours below this line:

CERTIFICATION AFFIDAVIT
I, the licensee named in the above, do certify under penalty of law that the information contained herein is true, correct,
and complete to the best of my knowledge and belief. | am aware that, should investigation at any time disclose any such
misrepresentation or falsification, my license could be subject to disciplinary action by the Kentucky Board Interpreters
for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing.

Date Applicant's Signature
mm/dd/year (Sign your name - Do not print or type)

Do Not Write Below This Line--For Board and Office Use Only
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AUDIT REVIEW - FOR BOARD MEMBER USE ONLY

Application status: Approved Denied
Board Member(s): Date:
Resubmitted for review: Approved Denied
Board Member(s): Date:

Comments:




